Must-Haves for Your First Apartment

must-haves-for-your-first-apartment
Dearest reader,

 

In just a few months time thousands of students across the country will be getting ready to head back to college. Many will be freshman excited, scared, and nervous all at once, moving into the college dorms. But for some of us lucky ones, we are returners, and have a little bit more leeway with where we will be living. 

I will be moving into an apartment in early August. I am beyond excited, and slightly stressed, to finally move into my own big-girl place. It’s a tiny two-bedroom second floor apartment right on the edge of my university’s campus. They aren’t the best buildings, and I was so disappointed to learn that the walls are cinder block and the floors are tile exactly like the dorm I was in for two years. But it will be my own place, and I will have a separate space for my bedroom, kitchen, living room, and air conditioning.

With moving into an apartment comes buying things to furnish and make said apartment home. In the dorms, we were supplied most of the furniture we needed, like a bed and mattress, closet or wardrobe, bedside table with drawers, desk with hutch, chair, and trashcan (One of the jobs I have when I’m at school is to give tours of the dorm rooms to prospective students and parents, so I have that list memorized). When I was signing my lease agreement, I could get a furnished apartment for $50 more a month, but I knew I would need my own furniture eventually so I decided to save up and buy it for myself this summer.

Guys, I have to tell you. I’m a planner. I know, please don’t be too shocked. When I bought my laptop a few years ago, I had a spreadsheet containing comparisons and prices so I could get the best laptop for the price and quality. Buying items for my apartment is no different. I immediately started listing the items I would need to buy. Some of these items I already have, such as my own towels, but I do have to buy most of it since it will be my apartment, like a new mattress and bed frame (which my parents and I went halfsies on for my birthday present in November).

I will have a roommate next year, so after I made this monster of a list, we went through and divided up the items so we would spend approximately the same amount. I made a Google Doc with all these items and shared it with her, so we can access it from anywhere if we are out and see something. It also means we can edit it so if we buy something, we can easily cross it off the list right then and there.

The list I created is specifically for buying items you may not already own. For example, I did not need to put hair dryer on this list, because it is something I know my parents won’t mind if I take with me. They would probably mind if I tried to take the mattress (okay, they wouldn’t, but I would feel bad so I bought my own).

 

The List

  • Bathroom
    • Body towels
    • Hair towels
    • Hand towels
    • Washclothes
    • Wastebasket
    • Shower curtain 
    • Shower liner 
    • Shower rings 
    • Shower caddy
    • Rug
    • Soap pump/dish
    • Toothbrush holder
    • Plunger 
    • Toilet brush 
    • Scale 
  • Cleaning
    • Vacuum
    • Broom and dustpan
    • Mop and bucket
    • Cleaning cloth
    • Duster
    • Cleaning products
    • Antibacterial wipes
    • Air freshener spray
    • Step stool
    • Trash bags
  • Dining
    • 16 pc. Dinner set 
    • 16 pc. Flatware set 
    • Cups
    • Coasters
  • Living room
    • Area rug
    • Couch/ love seat/ futon 
    • Chairs 
    • Curtains
    • Lights 
    • Ottoman/Coffee table 
    • Coasters
    • Bookcase 
    • Wall art
    • Wall clock
    • Entertainment stand 
    • TV 
    • Candles
    • Other décor
  • Kitchen
    • Sauce pans
    • Skillets
    • Knives
    • Colander
    • Kitchen timer
    • Pot holders /oven mitts
    • Cookie sheet
    • Measuring cups
    • Measuring spoons
    • Mixing bowls
    • Assorted spoons for cooking
    • Muffin tin
    • Utensils
    • Vegetable peeler
    • Wisk
    • Can opener
    • Ice cream scoop
    • Hand mixer
    • Toaster
    • Chip clips (or clothes pins)
    • Food storage containers
    • Ice cube tray
    • Paper towel holder
    • Shelf liner
    • Utensil tray
    • Dish rack
    • Dish towels 
    • Dish washcloths
    • Dish mat
    • Sponge
    • Trash can
    • Rug
    • Glass baking dish
    • Crock pot
  • Dining
    • Table 
    • Chairs 
    • Place mats
    • Centerpiece
    • Décor
  • Bedroom 
    • Mattress and box spring
    • Bed frame
    • Mattress protector
    • Comforter
    • Sheets
    • Pillow
    • Desk
    • Chair
    • Desk lamp
    • Dresser
    • Mirror
    • Rug 
    • Waste basket 
    • Curtains 
    • Laundry basket

Screen Shot 2016-12-22 at 2.12.17 PM.png

Get the free printable here: printable-dorm-list

What are some of your apartment/house must-haves? Where are some of your favorite places to buy furniture/necessities? Let me know in the comments!

Follow me on social media!

Twitter              |              Pinterest             |              Instagram

Check out these posts also:

Apartment Reveal

How to Beat First Day of College Nerves

The Introvert’s Guide to Flourishing in College

Leave a Reply

