Kitchen Essentials from a Foodie

kitchen-essentials-from-a-foodie
Dearest reader,

 

I am moving into my apartment on Friday. Friday!! I’m excited and nervous at the same time. My anxiety levels are through the roof and I am seriously having nightmares about losing my future apartment key before I even move in. What helps me when I’m having such a hard time thinking about the future is making lists to make sure I have everything I need. 

One very important list, because I like to eat, is the grocery list! Because this is my first apartment, I will need to stock my pantry which can be stressful if you don’t know what to buy. Luckily for you, my roommate and I are foodies. What is a foodie, you may ask? Well, we both are picky about the quality of food but have wide with our food choices, and know a lot about food in general. We are both future Family and Consumer Science educators, so food is one of our base subjects that we will have to teach.

My roommate and I also like to cook. She more likes the making meals part, and I’m all for baking desserts and breads. We’ll be a great duo, if not a little overweight by the end of the year. After living in the dorms for two years, we are both very excited to start cooking our own meals and meal plan for the coming weeks. The food and nutrition classes we have both taken have prepared us excellently to prepare nutritious and environmentally friendly meals. By buying these ingredients all at once, you are saving time and money by not having to continually running to the store to get supplies.

In order to cook a lot of meals and meal plan, we will need a few basics to get us started. We don’t want to have to go buy onion powder every time a recipe calls for it. I started making this list for myself as someone who loves to cook and have flavorful meals. One thing that is important to me is to make sure any fresh fruits and vegetables that you buy are in season. If there aren’t in season, they are more expensive due because they have to be bought, and then delivered, from overseas. This is a giant waste of money and resources because nature intentionally has these fresh foods on rotation. It helps us so we don’t get tired of different fresh foods because they are only in season for a few months out of the year.

One of the best ways to make sure you are buying fresh food that is in season is to buy from farmer’s markets. I am a big fan of farmer’s markets because it supports local businesses and puts money back into the community instead of into the pocket of a multi-million dollar business owner. Plus, the farmers are often old men which are super nice and sweet as well, so you can’t go wrong when buying from a farmer’s market!

Now, without further ado, the grocery list I have made for you!

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 8.02.05 PM.png

Download this pantry-stocking list here: Kitchen Essentials Grocery List

Follow me on social media!

Twitter              |              Pinterest             |              Instagram

Check out these posts also!

Fall Semester Goals

The Introvert’s Guide to Flourishing in College

How to Prepare for Your First Week of Classes

Leave a Reply

