College Girl’s Guide to Winter Break

COLLEGE GIRL'S GUIDE TO WINTER BREAK.pngDearest reader,

 

First of all, I want to thank you for taking time out of your day to read this. I know I haven’t posted in months and while I have an excuse, it isn’t the best. I’m glad you are still here though!

Although I love my school and attending classes, this year’s break couldn’t have come sooner. This was my toughest semester yet and I had to reduce both my hours at work and my course load by dropping my most demanding class half-way through the semester. This was stressful for me, who struggles with the concept of ‘too much on her plate’, and has been really hard for me to deal with.

This break has been much longed for by me and thousands of other students who drudged through the dreaded finals and dragging semester. And while I’m so glad it’s here, I am also bored already. It’s been one week of my three-week vacation home and I am dying to do something. I don’t like being idle and the past few days all I’ve done is browse through Pinterest and Facebook and watch Friends on Netflix. And I’m. So. Tired of it already.

I like to keep busy. If I’m not busy, I feel like I’m wasting time. So in order to use the rest of my break productively I’ve decided to make a list of things I (and you!) can do. With this list, I’m glad I finally have a purpose and to-do list until I go back to super organized and productive school!

School

Prep for my new classes

Sort through last semester’s folder on my computer and organize

Set goals (and how to achieve them) for next semester

Professional Development

Update my resume (I can add Suicide Prevention Training to the list)

Update my professional portfolio

Find and read a book in my field

Personal

Find an apartment for my boyfriend

Finish Friends 

Spend 15 minutes a day with my hamster

Blog

Restart Simply Bumbling Along

Update all my pictures for past posts to reflect my new theme

Get in touch with my blogger friends once again

Social

Meet up/go out with my friends from high school

Spend quality time with my family

Communicate better with my boyfriend

Health

Try a pilates workout

Try PIYO workout

Try a cardio strength work out

 

Other things you can do

My break isn’t going to be all the above. I also want to do other things. Here are a few ideas that you can try as well!

  • Relax on the couch
  • Tape a nap
  • Make a winter break bucket list
  • Go on dates with your SO
  • Go on dates with yourself
  • Watch Netflix
  • Go shopping for presents
  • Shop online for presents
  • Volunteer
  • Read a book you’ve always meant to but never have (i.e. Pride and Prejudice)
  • Bake a new sweet treat
  • Cook a five course meal for you and your family
  • Spend some time at your local library
  • Plan a New Year’s Eve party
  • Make New Year’s resolutions – and stick to them until you go back to school at least!
  • Do one thing that only you can do for someone else
  • Paint your nails
  • Pick up a new hobby
  • Drink hot chocolate and watch a holiday movie
  • Make fancy homemade hot chocolate 
  • Go ice skating
  • Build a snowman/fort
  • Have a snowball fight
  • Make a DIY
  • Travel locally
  • Start a Christmas tradition
  • Deep clean the apartment

What other things are you doing during this break?

Follow me on social media!

Twitter              |              Pinterest             |              Instagram

Check out these posts also!

Fall Semester Goals

The Introvert’s Guide to Flourishing in College

How to Prepare for Your First Week of Classes

Leave a Reply

