Word of the Year 2017

word-of-the-year-2017

Dearest reader,

To be honest, I don’t know what day it is number-wise or day-of-the-week-wise. But I do know that we have entered a new year, and with a new year comes a new beginning. I’ve been hearing about other bloggers posting about this thing called a Word of the Year and I felt really inspired to do my own. 

In 2017, I will be completing two more semesters (out of three) of school, moving in with my boyfriend, finding a new job over the summer, as well as anything else that will pop up over the next 365 days. For a planner like me, thinking about this causes my anxiety to flare but I have to tell you I couldn’t be more excited about the wonderful things that are going to happen this year.

For this upcoming year, the word I am sticking with is improve. There are several different areas in my life that I want to improve upon. I believe you can always work on something to make it better, and I want to apply that adage to my everyday life. Below are some of the ways I am hoping to improve my life. (Note: I used each first letter to spell out I.M.P.R.O.V.E. as well!)

improve

Intelligence

By intelligence, I mean school performance. I work very hard to keep and maintain my grades while in college, but I tend to do the coursework to get the grade, not to learn the material. I want to read more books and try to memorize more information in my future profession because I know it will help me down the line.

Mental health

Mental health is something I have always struggled with. Since I was a child I have had depression and have had anxiety since I was in middle school. This peaked during my freshman year of college when I finally decided to start seeing a counselor for it. The counselors have really helped in the past, but last semester I stopped going because they assigned a new counselor to me whom I did not like. Instead of asking for a reassignment, I decided I would just quit. This has not been my best decision and I really need to start going back. Mental health is important and I need that time for me.

Party

I don’t really mean party, but I wanted to make it work with the letters in ‘improve’. What I really mean with this is Social. Being social is something that has always been hard for me. I don’t like being social. When I was a preteen I would hide in my room during family gatherings. To me going out is a bit of a pain, but to me is it also important. Being social has really helped my mental health in the past and I know that it can continue to help if I work for it.

Riches

I used a thesaurus for that word and yes I’m very proud of myself for that fact. With my riches (AKA money) I definitely want to improve. I have a very bad habit of emotional spending (I’m stressed or sad = a new purchase) and have trouble saving any sort of money. This upcoming semester I am definitely going to be spending more than I’m earning (I reduced my work hours in half!) so I will need to be extra careful of my spending habits. If possible, I would also like to start saving funds for my semester of student teaching and learn more about investing money.

(l)Ove

I have a boyfriend. He and I have been together for eleven months now and will be moving in together in May. I love him a lot (enter romantic sigh here) and can’t wait to be with him full-time (I only get to see him some weekends while I’m at school). Still, I want to continue to build a solid relationship foundation for our future together and make our time together even better.

Vocal

I have a huge problem with being vocal. I’ve always been the type of person who keeps things to herself because she would rather do that than possibly hurt someones’ feelings. It doesn’t always work and it really isn’t the best way to approach a relationship. It’s something that I want to improve on.

Exercise

I’m going to be honest here. I hate exercising most of the time. I’m not in any shape except round and I don’t like to sweat. Exercise is not my thing. But as a plus size girl, exercise is important. Plus I put on ten pounds this past semester and I’m wanting to work that off. I do like yoga and will be purchasing a semester’s worth of classes at my campus gym in order to get started on this. I hope to expand my exercise to other areas in order to get fit!

What’s your focus for this new year? I would love to hear it!

Follow me on social media!

Twitter              |              Pinterest             |              Instagram

Check out these posts also!

Fall Semester Goals

How to Prepare for Your First Week of Classes

Must-Haves for Your First Apartment

 

One thought on “Word of the Year 2017

  1. My word of the year is “balance.” Last semester I sucked at balancing everything in my life and let school/work take over. So this year I’m wanting to balance everything better. I hope you’re able to improve on everything you’re wanting to this year!

    – Courtney
    courtneylthings.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

